View Desktop

Listen now: Monaco F1 podcast

Published May 14, 2010


FORMULA ONE: Monaco Grand Prix

Site: Monte Carlo, Monaco.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (TSN, 7:55 a.m.); Sunday, race (TSN, 7:55 a.m.)

Track: Circuit de Monaco (street course, 3.34 kilometres).

Race distance: 260.6 kilometres, 78 laps.

Last year: Jenson Button raced to the fifth of his six 2009 victories en route to the season championship, beating Brawn GP teammate Rubens Barrichello.

Last week: Red Bull's Mark Webber had a comfortable wire-to-wire victory in the Spanish Grand Prix. Ferrari's Fernando Alonso was second and Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel third after McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton crashed with a lap left.

Listen to the podcast:

Fast facts: Button, the winner in Australia and China in his first season with McLaren, leads the standings with 70 points. Alonso, the Bahrain winner, is second with 67, followed by Malaysia winner Vettel (60) and Webber (53). … Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher, driving for Ross Brawn-led Mercedes GP after a three-year retirement, is ninth with 22 points. He has a record 91 victories, winning at Monaco in 1994, '95, '97, '99 and 2001.

Next race: Turkish Grand Prix, May 30, Istanbul Speed Park, Istanbul.

On the Net:


Practice begins Saturday for the annual Indianapolis 500, scheduled for the Indianapolis Motor Speeday on Sunday, May 30.

Qualifying takes place next weekend.

No TV this weekend, but streaming video and timing and scoring are available at

Last race: Scott Dixon won for the second straight year at Kansas Speedway, leading the final 150 laps in the May 1 race. Dario Franchitti was second.

On the Net:

NASCAR SPRINT CUP: Autism Speaks 400

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying (3 – 4:30 p.m., TSN2, Speed); Saturday, practice (Speed, 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (FOX, noon – 5 p.m.; TSN 7 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, mile).

Race distance: 400 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Jimmie Johnson raced to the second of his seven 2009 victories en route to his fourth straight season title, rebounding from a late pit-stop problem to catch Tony Stewart with two laps left. Johnson led 298 of 400 laps. He also won the September race on the high-banked concrete oval, leading 271 laps.

Last week: Denny Hamlin became the first driver in 17 years to sweep the Nationwide and Sprint Cup races at Darlington Raceway. The Joe Gibbs Racing star has three victories – two since knee surgery – in the last six races.

Fast facts: Talladega winner Kevin Harvick tops the standings with 1,622 points, 110 more than Johnson. … Johnson, 38th at Darlington after a hard wreck, leads active drivers with five Dover victories. He's tied with Hamlin for the series victory lead with three. … Dale Earnhardt Jr. is winless in 68 races and has only one victory in 83 starts for Hendrick Motorsports. He has 18 career Sprint Cup wins.

Next race: NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, May 22, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

On the Net:


Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (TSN, 10-11:30 a.m.), race, 2:30 p.m. (TSN, ABC, 2-5 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, mile).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Brad Keselowski raced to the first of his four 2009 series victories, shooting past Kyle Busch and Joey Logano on a restart with two laps left.

Last week: Denny Hamlin won at Darlington Raceway, pulling away from Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Busch over the final five laps. Hamlin, also the winner of the Sprint Cup race Sunday, has won his last three Nationwide starts at Darlington.

Fast facts: Keselowski leads the season standings, 55 points ahead of defending champion Busch. Keselowski won consecutive races last month at Talladega and Richmond. Busch has a series-high three victories. … Jason Keller is attempting to qualify for his record 500th start. Driving for startup team Tri-Star Motorsports, the 10-time series winner has failed to qualify for three of the first 10 races this season. … Clint Bowyer won the September race at the track.

Next race: Tech-Net Auto Service 300, May 29, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

On the Net:


Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 4:30-6 p.m.; race, Speed, 8 p.m..

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, mile).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Brian Scott raced to his first NASCAR victory. Front-running Kyle Busch faded to ninth after hitting the wall with 17 laps left.

Last race: Johnny Sauter won May 2 at Kansas Speedway, holding off Ron Hornaday Jr. after they made late contact and saved their trucks in tire-smoking slides.

Fast facts: Timothy Peters, the winner of the season-opening race at Daytona, has a 22-point lead over Todd Bodine in the standings. … The 51-year-old Hornaday is fourth, 97 points behind Peters. Hornaday won his series record fourth title last season, winning six races for Kevin Harvick Inc. … Elliott Sadler is driving the No. 2 Chevrolet in place of Harvick, the winner at Atlanta and Martinsville.

Next race: North Carolina Education Lottery 200, May 21, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

On the Net:

NHRA FULL THROTTLE: Southern Nationals

Site: Commerce, Ga.

Track: Atlanta Dragway.

Last year: Morgan Lucas beat Spencer Massey in the Top Fuel final for his first career victory. Jack Beckman (Funny Car), Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won.

Last event: Tony Schumacher raced to his second Top Fuel victory of the season, beating Doug Kalitta in the Midwest Nationals on May 2 in Madison, Ill. Robert Hight (Funny Car), Warren Johnson (Pro Stock) and Michael Phillips (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won. It was Johnson's Pro Stock-record 151st victory and first since 2007.

Fast facts: In 2008 at the track, Ashley Force Hood beat father John Force to become the first female driver to win a national Funny Car event. … John Force has three victories this year to push his record total to 129. The 60-year-old star, trying to add to his record 14 season championships, leads the Funny Car standings – 151 points ahead Matt Hagan. … In Top Fuel, Larry Dixon has a 41-point lead over Cory McClenathan. Dixon has three victories this year, one more than McClenathan. … Edwards, a three-time winner this year, has a 286-point lead in Pro Stock.

Next event: NHRA Summer Nationals, May 21-23, Heartland Park Topeka, Topeka, Kan.

On the Net:

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Your Comment